CCP Demands Cultural Performances at Religious Sites (VIDEO)

In its effort to blot out religion, the Chinese Communist Party uses churches and temples as venues for the non-religious to perform.

On February 15, 2019, a theatrical performance broke the serenity of Faguan Buddhist Temple, located in the Hukou county of Jiujiang city in southeast Jiangxi Province, which is usually a tranquil ancient temple, built in the Song Dynasty – an era which lasted from 960-1279.

Using temples and churches as a site for political and cultural performances is a new government anti-religion tactic employed throughout China. Authorities are introducing “Happy Sunday” events of promoting dances, tug-of-war games, and other amusements, as an alternative to Sunday Mass or are taking over churches to turn them into theaters, game rooms, and different types of entertainment venues.

Just before the Spring Festival, China’s New Year, the president of the Buddhist Association of Jiujiang city and leaders from Hukou county’s Religious Affairs Bureau convened a meeting of more than 100 abbots from the local temples and demanded that each temple adhere to “love of country and love of religion.”

Promotional poster of the “2019 New Spring Buddhist Prayer Service and Theatrical Performance” at Faguan Buddhist Temple.

Besides the demands of raising the national flag at religious venues and the posting of the new Regulations on Religious Affairs, temples are now required to host cultural events that promote “Chinese national culture” and “core socialist values.”

And so, the Faguan Buddhist Temple had no choice but to invite a theatrical troupe to stage performances at the temple in accordance with the government’s requirements, a Buddhist householder, otherwise known as a lay devotee, told Bitter Winter.

The scene of the “2019 New Spring Buddhist Prayer Service and Theatrical Performance” at Faguan Buddhist Temple.

“This is one of the national policies. It’s the same everywhere. I went to the temples at the foot of Lushan Mountain. Just like here, they are holding various ceremonies,” one elderly householder said. “A temple is supposed to be a place for us Buddhists to find peace and quiet. Nowadays, temples aren’t even like temples anymore – they’re like country fairs. With that, how can we Buddhists find peace and quiet?”

Below the stage stood a group of volunteers wearing red vests, on the backs of which were two lines of striking Chinese characters: “Patriotism must come before religious faith; one must behave with integrity before studying Buddhism.”

On the backs of the volunteers’ vests were the Chinese characters: “Patriotism must come before religious faith; one must behave with integrity before studying Buddhism.”

“In our hearts, Buddha is definitely bigger. But the national policy requires us to ‘love our country before believing in Buddhism’; there is nothing we can do,” one abbot said. “We have to fly the national flag and put on theatrical performances. If we don’t do as instructed, we will be driven out of the temple.”

Propaganda board with the core socialist values on it in Faguan Buddhist Temple.

The initiatives to force artistic performances into religious venues are still being implemented across central China’s Henan Province. This campaign is being carried out as if it were a political mission.

On February 5, 2019, Huxi Church in Yongcheng city’s Houling township held an event to celebrate the Spring Festival. But just as the show was beginning, the directors of the women’s federations of Huxi village and Huzhong village, accompanied by two young men, stormed into Huxi Church, turning the religious event into a politically cultural one.

The two young men then held up a banner reading “Houling Township Springtime Cultural Event: Huzhong Village Artistic Performance,” while the directors of women’s federations of the two villages’ were recording this scene with their mobile phones from below the stage.

“During the Spring Festival, we wanted to praise the Lord. But with them making trouble, it turned into an ‘artistic performance’ instead,” one believer angrily said. “They also said they would post the video for propaganda. Aren’t they misleading people into thinking that the church is holding recreational activities? What they are doing is utter blasphemy.”

Huxi Church in Yongcheng city’s Houling township held an event to celebrate the Spring Festival:

source:BITTER WINTER/Tang Zhe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

古寺庙内唱大戏 当局强推文艺演出进宗教场所(影片)

2019年2月15日,一场文艺演出打破了位于江西省九江市湖口县的法官禅寺的宁静。这所相传建于宋朝年间的宁静古寺被隆重的文艺节目、戏剧淹没。

就在春节前,九江市佛教协会会长和湖口县宗教局领导召集当地各寺庙住持100多人开会,要求各寺庙坚持 “爱国爱教”,春节期间必须要有新的仪式,除了升挂国旗、贴宗教事务条例外,还要在寺庙推广宣传社会主义核心价值观、中华民族文化的文艺节目。法官禅寺按照政府要求,不得不邀请戏团来寺庙办文艺演出。

2019年法官禅寺新春祈福法会暨文艺演出的宣传画
2019年法官禅寺新春祈福法会暨文艺演出现场

“这是国家的政策,到处都一样,我去庐山下面的寺庙里,跟这里一样也搞各种仪式。” 一老居士说,”寺庙本是我们信佛之人清静之地,如今的寺庙哪是寺庙,跟集市一样,我们信佛还怎么能清静哪?”

戏台下面站着一群穿着红色马夹的义工,他们穿着的马夹背后写着两行醒目的大字 “信教先爱国学佛先做人”。

一住持说:”在我们心中肯定是佛大,但没办法,国家的政策要求我们 ‘信佛先爱国’,要插国旗、办文艺节目,如果我们不照办,就要被赶出寺庙。”

义工的马夹背后写着 “信教先爱国学佛先做人”
法官禅寺社会主义核心价值观的宣传牌

文艺汇演进宗教场所的行动还在河南省落实,这项活动似乎被当成一项政治任务来完成。

2019年2月5日,永城市侯岭乡的呼西教堂举办活动庆祝春节。可节目刚开始,呼西村妇联主任和呼中村妇联主任带着两个年轻人闯进呼西教堂,将这场宗教活动变成了带有政治意味的文艺演出。

两名年轻人将写着 “侯岭乡春满中原文化活动——呼中村文艺汇演” 的横幅举起,两个村庄的妇联主任拿着手机在台下将这一幕拍了下来。

“我们春节赞美主,经他们这样一胡闹,却变成了 ‘文艺汇演’。” 一信徒愤怒地说,”她们还说要把这视频发出去宣传,这不是误导人,让人认为教堂在举行娱乐活动吗?这样做完全是一种亵渎!”

影片:永城市侯岭乡的呼西教堂的春节活动

将寺庙和教堂用作政治表演和文艺演出的场所是中国各地政府用来抵制宗教的新举措。一些地方当局发起 “快乐星期天” 活动,推行舞蹈、拔河比赛等娱乐活动以取代主日礼拜,还有的直接占领教堂,改为戏院、棋牌室等娱乐场所

 

来源:寒冬/唐哲

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注