The Church of Almighty God / Eastern Lightning: 10 False Myths

Most of what you find on the Internet about The Church of Almighty God is false. Here is why, and where to look for more reliable information.

Members of The Church of Almighty God hide outdoor for their gatherings to elude police surveillance in China

Massimo Introvigne

Table of contents:

Myth 1. The Church of Almighty God Killed a Woman in a Chinese McDonald’s
Myth 2. The Church of Almighty God Is Violent
Myth 3. The Church of Almighty God Kidnaps Christians to Convert Them
Myth 4. The Church of Almighty God Predicted the World Would End in 2012
Myth 5. The Church of Almighty God Brainwashes Its Followers
Myth 6. Church of Almighty God Evangelism is Motivated by Money
Myth 7. The Church of Almighty God Is Against the Family
Myth 8. The Church of Almighty God Advocates a Revolution in China
Myth 9. The Church of Almighty God Is Clearly Not Christian
Myth 10. The Church of Almighty God Is a Cult

The Church of Almighty God (CAG) is the largest Chinese Christian new religious movement. It is also known as “Eastern Lightning.” It has been founded in 1991, and after its rapid growth alarmed the Chinese regime, it was banned in 1995. It was heavily persecuted since, with hundreds of thousands arrested, hundreds of cases of torture, more than one hundred well-documented instances of death while in custody or as a consequence of police mistreatment, and several cases of organ harvesting. In the 21st century, to justify the persecution, the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) has launched a massive campaign of fake news against the CAG. Unfortunately, despite having been debunked by independent Western scholars, the fake news has been uncritically spread by some Western media and is still widely available on the Web, where Chinese propaganda is also active with anonymous or pseudonymous texts. Here is a guide to the most common myths and fake news.

Myth 1. The Church of Almighty God Killed a Woman in a Chinese McDonald’s

False. On May 28, 2014, salesgirl Wu Shuoyan (1977–2014) was killed in a McDonald’s diner in the city of Zhaoyuan, Shandong. Six “missionaries” entered the McDonald’s and asked for the cell phone numbers of the customers. Wu refused to supply hers, was identified as an “evil spirit,” and killed.
Chinese authorities claimed that the perpetrators were CAG members, and used the claim to justify their persecution of the CAG. However, Western scholars who studied the documents of the subsequent trial, where two of the assassins were sentenced to death, concluded that the group, although using the name “Almighty God,” was not related to the CAG. It was a different religious movement, which believed in a dual deity incarnated in the two female leaders of the movement: Zhang Fan (1984–2015), who was executed, and Lü Yingchun. At trial, Lü Yingchun clearly explained that she regarded the CAG as “a fake ‘Church of Almighty God’” and her own movement as “the real ‘Almighty God.’” Zhang Fan stated that, although they had read some CAG books, they never had any contact with the CAG (please refer to the above video). Scholars have unequivocally concluded that the assassins were not related to the CAG. The Chinese regime attributed the crime to the CAG to justify its persecution at home and abroad.

Myth 2. The Church of Almighty God Is Violent
False. The CAG, according to Chinese governmental sources, has four million members. It is surprising, and a testament to its peaceful nature, that only a handful of them have been accused of violent behavior (the rate is much higher in mainline religions). Moreover, the accusations were false. The most horrific accusation is about gouging out the eyes of a young boy in 2013 in Shanxi. Police records show that the crime was perpetrated by the boy’s aunt, who later committed suicide and had nothing to do with the CAG, which was accused of the incident only one year later by a website against “cults.” Chinese propaganda shows pictures of people beaten and mutilated by the CAG but has failed to produce any more specific evidence, detail, or court record, related to the prosecution of CAG members for these alleged crimes. More than 5,000 Chinese CAG members escaped abroad. If they are so violent, why not even one of them has been accused of any violent crime in the host countries?

Myth 3. The Church of Almighty God Kidnaps Christians to Convert Them
False. This has been alleged in 2002 by China Gospel Fellowship (CGF), a large Christian house church, which complained that CAG had “kidnapped” 34 of its leaders. Although CGF claims it reported the incident to the police, no CAG member was arrested or prosecuted for the crime. The CGF incident became the model for subsequent (and unsubstantiated) similar accusations by other Christian groups, but no police or court records were ever offered as evidence. One only needs to pause and think. CAG members are mercilessly hunted in China. Rewards are offered for their capture. How would they be able to mount a vast kidnapping operation in a police state like China? And CAG grows very fast: millions converted in a few decades. Would they run serious risks just to convert a few dozens more? And are people kidnapped and beaten likely to convert?

Forcing people to convert is against CAG theology. In a large church, it is not unlikely that some members, at some stage, used over-zealous or inappropriate recruitment practices. This was noted, and stopped, by the CAG highest administrative authority in 2005. His instructions read, “The gospel must be preached by using regular ways. This has been emphasized many times. Some people still use low and base means to preach the gospel. This must be forbidden. Whoever uses such means to preach the gospel must stop immediately. Anyone who uses them again will be expelled.”

A charitable explanation of the accusations by those Christian groups is that some of their leaders were invited to seminars in China and went there without realizing the organizer was CAG (of course CAG, as a banned movement, cannot organize anything in China using its own name). A less charitable explanation is that they were embarrassed by the fact that so many of their members had converted to CAG and invented the “kidnapping” and other rumors as convenient explanations.

Myth 4. The Church of Almighty God Predicted the World Would End in 2012
False. Many Chinese of all faiths believed in the so called “Mayan” prophecies that the world would end in 2012. Some individual CAG members also did, but they were told they were wrong by the leaders. Those who insisted in talking about the end of the world were expelled. There was a very good reason for this. In CAG theology, there is no end of the world. Our world will be transformed, but will not end. And the transformation will not occur before the person the CAG worships as Almighty God (who was alive and well in 2012) will leave this world. The CCP accused the CAG of being involved in 2012 end of the world riots, but this was just another pretext to justify the persecution.

Myth 5. The Church of Almighty God Brainwashes Its Followers
False. Most academic scholars of new religious movements do not believe brainwashing exists at all. It is a convenient label used to discriminate against unpopular movements and explain why people convert to them. Courts of law in the United States (since 1990, with the landmark Fishman decision) and elsewhere agreed: brainwashing is a pseudo-scientific myth. Even the tiny, controversial minority of scholars who believes in brainwashing admit its existence can be proved only through large-scale psychological studies of members of a specific group. No such study of CAG has ever been performed, and an independent study would obviously be impossible in China, making the conclusion that the CAG “brainwashes” its followers wholly unsubstantiated.

Myth 6. Church of Almighty God Evangelism is Motivated by Money
False. The fake news that CAG members receive money for every new person they convert has been invented by Chinese propaganda publications. Considering the number of converts, even the richest religious organization in the world would have been quickly bankrupted by giving money awards for each new convert. It is also false that members are milked of their money and compelled to buy expensive books. In fact, there is no membership fee. CAG rules mandate that, “Believers of The Church of Almighty God can enjoy all of the books of God’s words, spiritual books, and audio and video productions without charge”.

Obviously, monetary contributions are needed in a large organization such as the CAG. The CAG’s Principles, however, leave a large individual latitude. “Some insist on making an offering of ten percent [the tithe, common in many religious groups], while others contribute in different ways. As long as it is being offered willingly, God will gladly accept it. God’s house only specifies that those who have only believed in God for less than a year are temporarily exempt from providing any offerings, while poor people are not required to provide any offerings but can make offerings according to their faith. The church will not accept offerings that might lead to family disputes. Those making an offering of money must pray several times, and only after they are sure they are completely willing and are certain they will never have any regrets are they to be allowed to make their offerings.”

Myth 7. The Church of Almighty God Is Against the Family
False. As in all religions, contrasts may emerge when one member of a family converts while the others don’t, or when somebody decides to become a full-time missionary (a choice available in most religions) and parents or other relatives do not approve. However, studies of CAG’s sacred scriptures and policy documents proved that the CAG has a positive view of marriage and the family as foreordained by God. CAG teaches that the family exists because of God’s “sovereignty and orchestration,” and reiterates God’s requirement of honoring parents and respecting the marriage.

Sociological surveys conducted on CAG members outside of China also proved that most of them were converted by relatives and in turn tried to convert their relatives to CAG, although of course other methods of proselytization also exist. On the other hand, it is true that many families including one or more CAG believer are destroyed and separated—not by CAG, but by Chinese persecution. The High Commissioner for Human Rights of the United Nations mentioned in a 2018 report that, “during 2014-2018, the Chinese Communist Party’s monitoring, arrest, and persecution had caused at least 500,000 Church of Almighty God (CAG) Christians to flee their home, and several hundred thousand families had been torn apart.”

Myth 8. The Church of Almighty God Advocates a Revolution in China
False. The CAG believes that the Chinese Communist Party has constantly “resisted God” and persecuted Christians and other believers. The CAG think that this fulfills the prophecy of the “evil Great Red Dragon” in the Book of Revelation. However, by reading CAG scriptures and literature it becomes obvious that the CAG believes the Dragon will fall by itself under the weight of its errors, and does not advocate any revolution. CAG members are counseled to stay away from politics. And, again, each person needs to pause and think by herself. Since they managed to grow so rapidly and resist persecution, one may assume CAG leaders to be intelligent and realistic people. How can they believe that a small (for Chinese standards) and persecuted group of believers may organize a successful revolution against the Chinese Communist Party, government, and army?

Myth 9. The Church of Almighty God Is Clearly Not Christian
False. That somebody is American, or Chinese, is an empirical statement. When in doubt, there are authorities (the respective governments) that can certify who is a citizen of their countries, and who isn’t. Who is or isn’t a Christian is a theological statement, and there is no universally recognized authority that can certify this status. Admittedly, CAG theology is different from traditional Christianity, as CAG believes Jesus Christ came back to Earth and incarnated as the Chinese woman it worships as Almighty God. American scholar Holly Folk, who has studied CAG theology, has found in it a number of “Protestant continuities.” As a conclusion, she declared it “a new Christianity with deep Christian roots,” “a real Christianity.” Different denominations and theologians use different definitions of Christianity, some broad and some very narrow. Catholics until the mid-20th century called Protestants non-Christians. Some fundamentalist Protestants still claim Catholics are not Christians. Who is Christian? Who decides?

Myth 10. The Church of Almighty God Is a Cult
False. As used by the Chinese Communist Party, “cult” or “evil cult” simply indicates a group the Party does not approve of, and whose persecution it tries to justify by spreading fake news. More generally, just as it happens for “brainwashing,” most academic scholars do not use the word “cult,” acknowledging it is a polemical rather than empirical label. A “cult” is a group somebody else do not like. All religions have been called “cults” in their early years. One can still find Protestant literature claiming the Roman Catholic Church is a cult, and arch-conservative Catholic literature making the same accusation against most Protestants. Anti-cultists propose checklists of the features of “cults”: they are dogmatic, authoritarian, patriarchal, demand much from members, discriminate against their ex-members who left the group, and so on. Academics do not regard these criteria (most of which, by the way, would not be applicable to the CAG) as valid for distinguishing between “religions” and “cults,” as the same features are also found within traditional religions. But, at any rate, “cult” is just a label used to discriminate against certain religions and movements, be it by totalitarian regimes, secular opponents of certain religions, or religionists disturbed by the competition. Almost all religions were, and are, accused by somebody of being “cults.”

source:BITTER WINTER/Massimo Introvigne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

关于全能神教会(东方闪电)的十大以讹传讹的流言

在网络上,关于全能神教会的传言大都不属实。本文的初衷是为读者提供准确可靠的信息,以正视听。

在中国,全能神教会成员为避开警察的监视只好躲到野外偷偷聚会(CAG)

作者:马西莫·英特罗维吉(Massimo Introvigne)

目录:

传言一:全能神教会在中国一家麦当劳餐厅杀了一名女子
传言二:全能神教会非常暴力
传言三:全能神教会绑架基督徒,逼他们信全能神
传言四:全能神教会预测2012年世界末日来临
传言五:全能神教会给信徒洗脑
传言六:全能神教会传福音是为了骗钱、敛财
传言七:全能神教会破坏家庭
传言八:全能神教会主张在中国发动革命
传言九:全能神教会显然不属于基督教
传言十:全能神教会是 “邪教”

全能神教会(CAG)又称 “东方闪电“,成立于1991年,是规模最大的中国新兴基督教团体。因教会发展迅速引起中共恐慌,1995年,全能神教会开始遭到查禁,此后一直遭到严重迫害,数十万信徒被捕,许多信徒遭到酷刑,现有据可查的有上百人于在押期间死亡,有的死于警察的虐待,有的甚至器官遭到强摘。到了21世纪,中共针对全能神教会发起了一场大规模的假新闻运动,想为其迫害行径找一个冠冕堂皇的理由。很不幸,尽管这些假新闻一再被独立的西方学者所揭穿,但一些西方媒体还是不加评判地加以传播,以讹传讹的流言仍充斥网络,其中不乏中共用匿名或化名发表的文章。通过本文,读者将对最常见的相关传言和假新闻有所了解。

传言一:全能神教会在中国一家麦当劳餐厅杀了一名女子

这不是真的。2014年5月28日,女售货员吴硕艳(1977-2014年)在山东招远市一家麦当劳餐厅遇害,起因是六名 “传教士” 走进这家麦当劳餐厅向食客索要手机号码,吴硕艳因拒绝提供手机号码,被定为 “邪灵” 遭到杀害。

中国当局声称杀人凶犯是全能神教会信徒,并以此为由迫害全能神教会。然而,西方学者对两名被判处死刑的涉案凶犯以及此案的庭审文件进行研究后得出结论,杀人凶犯虽然使用了 “全能神” 这个名字,却与全能神教会没有丝毫关系。他们属于另外一个宗教团体,他们信的是该团体的女性领导人张帆(1984-2015年,已被处决)和吕迎春二人的合体神。在庭审时,吕迎春解释得非常清楚,她认为全能神教会是 “假的全能神教会”,而她自己的团体才是 “真正的’全能神'”。张帆曾说过,虽然他们看过全能神教会的书,但从未与全能神教会取得过联系。学者得出明确结论,行凶者与全能神教会没有任何关系。中共政权将此案嫁祸给全能神教会,企图为其在国内外迫害该教会的行径找个理由。

传言二:全能神教会非常暴力

这不是真的。中共内部人士称,全能神教会有400万成员,但只有极少数全能神教会成员被指控有暴力行为。与传统宗教中信徒的犯罪率相比,这是令人惊讶的,证明这是一个爱好和平的教会。另外,这些指控纯属污蔑。对全能神教会最可怕的指控是2013年剜了一个山西男孩的双眼。警方记录显示,这桩罪行是男孩的伯母(案发后自杀)犯下的,与全能神教会没有任何关系,而且事发一年后全能神教会才被一个反 “邪教” 的网站指控要为此案负责。在中共的宣传中,有人被全能神教会信徒打伤割伤,并附有照片,但他们既没有提供证据,也没有指控任何嫌疑人,更缺乏相关的具体细节或庭审记录,无法证明全能神教会信徒因涉嫌这些犯罪行为而遭到起诉。5000多名中国全能神教会信徒逃亡海外,如果他们真的很暴力,那为什么没有一个人在收留他们的国家被指控有暴力行为?

传言三:全能神教会绑架基督徒,逼他们信全能神

这不是真的。据称,大型基督教家庭教会中华福音团契(CGF)控诉全能神教会2002年 “绑架” 了他们34名领袖。虽然中华福音团契声称已向警方报案,但没有一个全能神教会信徒因涉此案被逮捕或起诉。中华福音团契开了一个头,后来全能神教会又数次遭到其他基督教团体类似的指控,但这些案件既未经警方立案,也没有出示任何证据。大家不妨想一想,在中国这个警察国家,全能神教会信徒被中共无情追捕、悬赏抓捕,他们又怎么可能实施这么大规模的绑架呢?全能神教会发展非常迅速,在过去的几十年时间里,信徒已达数百万,有必要为了多得这几十个人冒这么大风险吗?而且绑架人、打人真的能让人来信全能神吗?

勉强人加入教会完全违背全能神教会的教义,但不排除有些成员在传福音过程当中热心过了头,使用了不当手段。2005年,全能神教会最高行政带领发现并制止这种不端行为,明确指示:”传福音必须使用正规的方式,这是多次强调过的。有些人仍然采用下三滥手段传福音,要立即限制。凡是采用下三滥手段传福音的人,必须立即停止活动。如果再用这个方式就开除他们。”

因此,对于这些基督教团体的指控,客气点的解释是:他们有些领袖受邀参加在中国举办的研讨会时并没有意识到组织者是全能神教会(全能神教会本身也是遭到中共查禁的宗教团体,当然不可能以本教会的名字在中国组织任何研讨会);不客气的解释是,他们因其众多成员加入全能神教会感到尴尬,所以才捏造这起 “绑架” 事件好有个台阶下。

传言四:全能神教会预测2012年世界末日来临

这不是真的。许多中国人虽信仰不同,但都相信所谓的 “玛雅” 预言,即2012年世界末日来临。个别全能神教会信徒也对此深信不疑,但是教会带领告诉他们这是不对的,那些张口闭口总谈论世界末日的人被开除了,这是有根据的。在全能神教会的教义里没有世界末日的内容,而是说:我们的世界将被更新变化,但不会被毁灭,而且这些更新变化要等到全能神教会信徒敬拜的全能神回到天上之后才会发生。既然全能神现在还在地上,2012年当然也在地上,而中共却指控全能神教会参与了2012年世界末日骚乱,这只不过是为其迫害行径找的另一个借口罢了。

传言五:全能神教会给信徒洗脑

这不是真的。很多新兴宗教学者都认为洗脑根本不存在。”洗脑” 这顶帽子一旦扣到不受欢迎的团体头上,很容易成为解释人们加入这些团体的原因,导致他们被歧视。自1990年对菲什曼(Stephen Fishman)案作出了标志性的判决后,美国及其他国家的法院一致认为:洗脑是一个伪科学的传言。即使对此存有异议的极个别极少数学者也承认,只有针对某个特定团体成员的心理进行大量分析研究后,才能证明有无洗脑现象。在这方面,从来没有人这么研究过全能神教会,而且在中国,独立研究全能神教会显然是不可能的事情。所以说全能神教会给信徒洗脑这个说法根本不成立。

传言六:全能神教会传福音是为了骗钱、敛财

这不是真的。中共政府的宣传刊物捏造的假新闻说,全能神教会信徒每传进一个新人都能拿到钱。如果每传进一个新人都要发奖金,那么按全能神教会成员的数量算,就算它是世界上最富有的宗教团体也会很快破产。另外,有传言说全能神教会勒索信徒,强迫他们高价买教会的书,这也不是真的。事实上,全能神教会不收会员费。全能神教会规定:”所有信徒都是免费享受神话语书籍与一切属灵书籍和各种音像制作品。”

当然,像全能神教会这样的大型团体是需要信徒奉献的。然而,全能神教会给个人很大的选择自由:”有人坚持奉献十分之一(编者注:很多宗教团体都有这样的实行法),有人有其他的奉献法,只要是甘心愿意的,神都悦纳。神家只规定信神一年之内的人可以暂时不奉献,贫困之人可以不奉献,但根据人的信心也可奉献。容易引起家庭纠纷的奉献,教会不接纳。凡是奉献钱财的人必须通过几次祷告,能达到甘心愿意、永远不后悔,才可以奉献。”

传言七:全能神教会破坏家庭

这不是真的。所有宗教都一样,一个家庭里如果有人信教也有人不信教,那么当一个人作出决定要全职传福音(很多宗教人士会作出这样的选择),而其父母或其他亲人不同意时,他们就志不同道不合了。然而,对全能神教会的圣典《话在肉身显现》和相关原则进行的研究结果表明,全能神教会对神所命定的婚姻和家庭有着正面的观点。他们认为家庭是因神的主宰安排而存在的,并一再强调,孝敬父母、尊重婚姻是神的要求。

对海外的全能神教会信徒进行的社会学调查也证实,他们中的大多数人都是通过家人加入教会的,他们本人又向其他亲属传福音,劝他们入教。当然,传福音还有其他不同的方式。另外,很多家里有一人或多人是全能神教会信徒的家庭确实破裂了,但这不是全能神教会造成的,而是中共的迫害导致的。联合国人权事务高级专员在其2018年的一份报告里提到,”2014至2018年间,中共的监视、抓捕和迫害导致全能神教会至少50万名基督徒背井离乡,几十万个家庭因此而破碎。”

传言八:全能神教会主张在中国发动革命

这不是真的。全能神教会认为中共一贯 “抵挡神”,迫害基督徒和其他宗教信徒,应验了《启示录》中关于邪恶大红龙的预言。然而,只要看过全能神教会的圣典和书籍就会知道,其实全能神教会相信大红龙因自身罪孽深重而自行垮台,所以并不主张革命。全能神教会劝诫其信徒远离政治。大家不妨想一想,尽管遭到中共的迫害,全能神教会仍能发展迅速,一般人都认为全能神教会的带领胆识过人、注重实际,既然这样,他们怎会不知道自己是遭迫害的宗教团体,且规模又小(按中国标准),是无法成功发起革命对抗中共,对抗政府,对抗军队的呢?

传言九:全能神教会显然不属于基督教
这不是真的。断定一个人是美国人还是中国人,可以凭经验得出结论。如对结论有疑问,自有当局(各国政府)可以证明谁是自己的国民,谁不是自己的国民。而断定一个人是或不是基督徒却属于神学范畴,没有一个权威部门可以下这个断案。不可否认,全能神教会的教义不同于传统的基督教教义,因为全能神教会认为耶稣基督已重归,就是他们敬拜的、道成肉身成为一名中国女性的全能神。研究全能神教会教义的美国学者霍丽·福尔克(Holly Folk)发现全能神教会教义中的诸多方面是 “基督教的延续“,她总结道,全能神教会是一个与基督教有深厚渊源的新兴宗教,是真正的基督教教会。不同宗派、不同神学家对基督教有不同的释义,有的是广义,有的是狭义。20世纪中叶之前,天主教一直说基督教不是真正的基督教,而一些持守教条的基督徒现在仍说天主教不属于基督教。到底谁才是基督徒?是不是基督徒由谁来决定?

传言十:全能神教会是 “邪教”

这不是真的。”邪教” 或 “邪恶的宗教团体” 是中共用来指代其不认可的某个组织,为了找一个理由对其实施迫害,中共就会散布假新闻。总之,正如不用 “洗脑” 这个词一样,很多学者也不用 “邪教” 这个词,认为这是一个有争议的说法,不能凭经验下断案。有些人不喜欢某个团体就称之为 “邪教”,所有宗教在成立之初都曾被称为 “邪教”。时至今日人们仍能在基督教的书籍中看到,罗马天主教被称为 “邪教”,而在保守派天主教会的书籍中,很多基督教派别同样被说成是 “邪教”。反邪教人士罗列了一大串 “邪教” 特征:守规条、专制、男人掌权、过高要求信徒、歧视退去的成员,诸如此类。学者们却认为,这些都不是区分 “宗教” 和 “邪教” 的有效标准,因为传统的宗教一样具备这些特征,但这些特征全能神教会反而没有。总之,无论是极权主义政权,还是反对某些宗教的不信派,或是害怕别人好过自己的宗教信徒,”邪教” 只不过是他们用来歧视某些宗教和团体的一个幌子。不管是过去还是现在,几乎所有宗教都会被某些人指控为 “邪教”。

 

来源:寒冬/马西莫·英特罗维吉(Massimo Introvigne)

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注