Chinese Refugees: Seeking Asylum in Italy

A conference in Milan’s Town Hall highlights religious persecution in China and the problems encountered by refugees.

by Massimo Introvigne

The conference in the Sala Alessi
The conference in the Sala Alessi
Few places are more symbolic of Milan that the Sala Alessi, in the heart of the city’s Town Hall, Palazzo Marino. The magnificent 16th century room is a feast of sculptures of frescos on Greek mythology. The ceiling is dominated by a fresco by the brothers Andrea (1525–1594) and Ottavio Semini (1530–1604). It represents the story of Eros and Psyche, which for two thousand years has been a main Western metaphor for the universal moral and spiritual teaching about the need of confronting the world’s problems with both reason and love.

The old metaphor was still relevant for a fully booked conference held in the beautiful Salone on October 26, co-organized by the Union of African Communities in Italy, Bitter Winter, and the latter’s parent organization, CESNUR, the Center for Studies on New Religions. After two sessions on Italian laws on refugees and African asylum seekers in Italy, the third part of the conference was devoted to China.

The session opened with Bitter Winter’s movie Tiananmen and Religious Persecution in China. Marco Respinti, director-in-charge of Bitter Winter, offered an outline of religious persecution in China, using sociologist Yang Fenggang’s scheme of a red, a gray, and a black market. All religions are persecuted in China, Respinti said, but not all are persecuted equally. Groups banned as xie jiao, part of what Yang calls the black market, such as Falun Gong and The Church of Almighty God, are persecuted more mercilessly.

Marco Respinti’s speech.
Marco Respinti’s speech.
I presented an outline of the history, theology, and persecution of The Church of Almighty God and its refugees in Italy, and a member of the same Church offered a moving testimony about being arrested and tortured in China—and denied asylum in Italy by an administrative commission (he has now appealed the decision before a civil court).

The conference was a great opportunity putting together scholars, refugees, lawyers, and some of the very judges who (in Milan more often than elsewhere in Italy) often  render negative decisions denying asylum to Chinese refugees, most of them members of The Church of Almighty God.

They clarified that they have no doubts that The Church of Almighty God is severely persecuted in China. The problem is to be persuaded that the individual refugee is really a member of that Church, and will be persecuted if compelled to return to China. The need emerged for judges, lawyers, and administrative authorities to further deepen their knowledge of The Church of Almighty God—something Italian authorities are laudably trying to do by producing national guidelines and documents, although not all local administrative boards use them. Refugees themselves should understand what parts of their stories are relevant for the boards and the courts, and should explain why they converted and decided to join a persecuted movement, while knowing how dangerous this may be in China.

A crucial question, highlighted in several speeches, concern the passports. If members of The Church of Almighty God and other banned groups are persecuted, why do they manage to get a passport? Sometimes, authorities in democratic countries rely on information over-emphasizing the effectiveness of the Chinese surveillance machine. It is powerful indeed, but it has bugs those willing to escape may learn to exploit. And one should never forget the record figures of corruption in China.

Millions of cases of corruption are reported every year. Police officers are corrupted to clean the criminal records of those who had been arrested. They are also corrupted to deliver passports they theoretically should not deliver, and to make it easier to pass controls at the borders. One problem is that refugees may be reluctant to disclose that they or their relatives were helped by corrupted officers, although of course they only did it because they desperately needed to escape.

I asked the authorities in the room to have a look at the local police chronicles in Tuscany, an Italian region where bosses of Chinese organized crime are often located and arrested. It comes out they all had entered Italy with regular passports, despite the fact that they were wanted for serious crimes. Obviously, I was not comparing law-abiding religion-based refugees to criminals. But, if even criminals may obtain a passport and come to Italy, the whole question of passports obviously deserves a second look.

At the end of the conference, the Love and Psyche fresco was still looking at the audience from the ceiling. Reason is important, but love is also important when taking decision concerning, literally, the life and death of refugees. If sent back to China, they will be arrested, tortured, perhaps killed, as many real and documented stories unfortunately testify. Individual stories should always be verified, but in these difficult days compassion may just be another name for justice.

Source: Bitter Winter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

中国难民:在意大利寻求庇护

日前,一场会议在米兰市政厅召开,聚焦中国的宗教迫害情况以及难民遇到的问题。

作者:马西莫·英特罗维吉(Massimo Introvigne)

阿莱西大厅的会议
阿莱西大厅的会议

比阿莱西大厅(Salone dell’Alessi)更能代表米兰的景点寥寥无几。阿莱西大厅坐落在米兰市政厅马里诺宫的中心位置,这座建于16世纪的大厅令人叹为观止,带给人一场希腊神话雕塑和湿壁画的视觉盛宴。天花板上主要是安德烈·塞米尼(Andrea Semini, 1525-1594年)和奥塔维奥·塞米尼(Ottavio Semini, 1530-1604年)兄弟二人绘制的壁画,描绘了厄洛斯和普赛克的故事(厄洛斯是希腊神话中的爱神,普赛克是灵魂之神,代表精神、心灵、心智)。两千年来,这个西方典故一直都是普世道德和精神教导方面的一个主要比喻,表示在应对世界上的问题时既要有理性也要有爱。

这个由来已久的典故与近日在美丽的阿莱西大厅举行的会议也密切相关。10月26日,意大利非洲团体联盟(Union of African Communities in Italy)、《寒冬》以及创办《寒冬》的新兴宗教研究中心(CESNUR)在阿莱西大厅共同举办了这次会议,现场座无虚席。会议前两部分探讨了意大利难民法律与在意大利寻求庇护的非洲人,第三部分则用于讨论中国问题。

会议第三部分开始时播放了《寒冬》制作的电影《天安门与中国的宗教迫害》(Tiananmen and Religious Persecution in China)。《寒冬》主任马可·莱斯宾蒂(Marco Respinti)借用社会学家杨凤岗的红色市场灰色市场、黑色市场理论概述了中国的宗教迫害现状。莱斯宾蒂指出,所有的宗教在中国都遭受迫害,但他们受迫害的程度并非完全相同。被列为「邪教」禁止的团体,即属于杨凤岗口中「黑色市场」的团体,遭到的迫害尤为残酷,其中包括法轮功全能神教会

马可·莱斯宾蒂在发言
马可·莱斯宾蒂在发言

我接着简要介绍了全能神教会的发展史及其教义,还有该教会遭受的迫害与该教会难民在意大利的境况。一位全能神教会成员讲述了自己在中国被抓捕、遭受酷刑以及来到意大利后申请庇护遭到行政委员会拒绝的令人印象深刻的经历(目前,他已在民事法庭就决议提起上诉)。

本次会议为学者、难民、律师、法官齐聚一堂创造了良机,与会法官常常(米兰地区比意大利其他地区更多)对中国难民的庇护申请给出否定决议,而这些中国难民中大多数是全能神教会成员。

法官们解释说他们完全相信全能神教会在中国遭受严重迫害。问题在于怎么证实某个难民的确是全能神教会的成员并且一旦被迫返回中国将受到迫害。因此,法官、律师和行政当局需要进一步加深对全能神教会的了解,意大利当局为实现这一点制定了国家指导方针及文件,这实在值得赞扬,不过并非所有地方行政委员会都在使用这些资料。而对于难民本人而言,他们应该知道自己的经历中哪些内容对行政委员会和法院来说是实质性的,也需要解释清楚他们在知道后果多么危险的情况下还相信并决定加入受迫害教派的原因。

护照的问题也是一个关键问题,这在多人的发言中都重点提到。既然全能神教会和其他遭禁团体的成员受到迫害,他们为什么能成功拿到护照呢?有时,民主国家的政府人员是根据过于强调中国监控机器高效有力的资料。中国的监控机器力量的确强大,但也有一些漏洞,而想逃离中国的人可能学会了如何利用这一漏洞。并且,我们绝不能忘了,中国的腐败问题是创纪录的。

每年,中国获举报的腐败案件达数百万起。警察因腐败清除曾被捕人员的犯罪记录,因腐败向理论上不应拿到护照的人颁发护照,并让他们较为轻易地通过边境的管控措施。一个问题是,许多难民可能不愿意透露有腐败的警察帮助了自己或自己的亲人,虽然他们那么做只是因为急需逃离中国。

当时,我邀请在场的政府人员看了意大利托斯卡尼大区当地警方的大事记,那里常常会发现、抓捕一些中国有组织犯罪的头目。最后发现他们是重大案件的通缉犯却持普通护照入境意大利。当然,我不是要把遵纪守法的宗教难民与犯罪分子相提并论,只是想说明,如果连犯罪分子都可以获得护照进入意大利,那显然有必要重新考虑整个有关护照的问题。

会议结束时,爱与心灵的壁画依然在天花板上静静地俯视众人。理性固然重要,但在决定关乎难民生死问题的事上(这么说毫不夸张),爱也很重要。如果被送回中国,他们会被抓捕,遭受酷刑,甚至可能被杀害,这是许多真实且有据可查的案例证实的一个可悲的事实。每个人讲述的经历都应该核实,但在目前的艰难时日中,同情心可能正是正义的代名词。

来源:寒冬

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注