A Global Tiananmen: Remembering Is Not Enough

June 4 commemorates Tiananmen. It is more than a memory. Persecution continues in China, and is even exported abroad through the harassment of refugees.

Bodies of civilians killed in Tiananmen Square, June 4, 1989 – Courtesy of Rarehistoricalphotos.com

Massimo Introvigne

Every day, Bitter Winter gives voice to the voiceless, reporting about human rights in China. We remember today, June 4, 2019, what happened in Tiananmen Square in Beijing on June 4, 1989. It was a turning point. We focus on religious liberty. Beyond the bravery of the Tiananmen students, we investigate the relationship between Tiananmen and religious repression in China. Tiananmen is a memory, but religion repression continues.

When

Historians regard 1989 as one of the most decisive years in modern history. Communism collapsed in Eastern Europe, starting with mass demonstrations in Poland and Hungary, and later in Czechoslovakia and Romania. The Berlin Wall was opened in November. It was the end of an epoch.

On February 15, 1989, the Soviet troops left Afghanistan, acknowledging their inability to defeat local Muslim guerillas. It was an event of immense significance for both the Soviet Union and the Muslim world.

Protests in Lithuania led to the Baltic Way of August 23, 1989. Two million people joined hands and formed a human chain across the three Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, demanding the end of the Soviet occupation of their countries. It was the beginning of the end of the Soviet Union.

Although historians debate how really influential the Eastern European events were on China, they may have played a role on the widespread hopes that the former General Secretary of CCP, Hu Yaobang (1915–1989), who had been forced to resign in 1987 but remained popular, might play the same role as Mikhail Gorbachev in the Soviet Union, leading to reform.

However, on April 15, 1989, Chinese media announced that Hu, who was in good health, had died of a “sudden heart attack.” Many university students believed Hu had been killed, and started gathering in protest both in Tiananmen Square in Beijing and elsewhere in the country.

What

Students continued to gather, with occasional skirmishes with the police. Meanwhile, the CCP debated what to do. The 85-year old leader Deng Xiaoping (1904–1997) had still the last word on all crucial decisions. He ordered to publish an editorial on April 26 in the CCP’s People’s Daily declaring that the students were counter-revolutionaries and had to be stopped.

Contrary to CCP’s expectations, the editorial did not stop the Tiananmen protest. The students’ number grew to hundreds of thousands and on May 14 they started a hunger strike. Quarrels among CCP leaders became increasingly visible, with Party secretary Zhao Ziyang (1919–2005) favoring a dialogue and premier Li Peng (b. 1928) a military repression.

The situation was complicated by the fact that the world’s eyes were set on Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev’s visit to China and summit with secretary Zhao on May 16. A surreal truce descended on Tiananmen Square, as the CCP wanted to avoid incidents during the visit. Reportedly, Gorbachev recommended moderation but was told by Zhao that decisions in China were ultimately taken by Deng Xiaoping.

Gorbachev’s visit galvanized the students, who were joined by other citizens of Beijing, until the crowd reached one million, with parallel demonstrations in another 400 Chinese cities. On May 17, Deng summoned the top CCP leaders in his home and ordered a harsh and decisive military repression of the protest. Zhao tried to object, which ended his political career and led him to be placed under house arrest.

On May 20, the martial law was declared in Beijing and troops and helicopters started converging on Tiananmen Square. To Deng’s great surprise, the students refused to give up. On June 1, hard-liner premier Li Peng issued a report calling the student “terrorists” and asking the army to mercilessly repress the protest.

Yet, the students still refused to disperse. In the night between June 3 and 4, ten divisions of the PLA (People’s Liberation Army, i.e. the Chinese Army) converged on Tiananmen Square with armored tanks. At 10 a.m. on June 4, they opened fire on the crowd.

The students tried to resist, but the CCP had ordered the troops to clear the square without regard to the casualties. How many of the students died is a matter of contention among historians. The U.S. government’s estimate was about 10,000, while the CCP maintains that only a few hundred students died, together with 23 police officers and soldiers.

With incredible bravery, the students resisted for days. The iconic photograph of a lone man standing in front of a column of tanks was taken on June 5, not 4, showing that resistance was continuing. In fact, it took a week for the PLA to completely suppress the protest both in Beijing and in the other cities.

Led by Ms. Ding Zilin, a retired university professor of philosophy whose seventeen-year-old son had been shot and killed by CCP soldiers during the protest, from September 1989 a group called the Tiananmen Mothers demanded justice for their assassinated children and an independent investigation on the events.

Although some NGOs supported them, in general international support for the Tiananmen mothers was weak and ineffective. When in the 2004, the year of the 15th anniversary of the Tiananmen massacre, Ding Zilin and others were arrested, not many protested.

Ding Zilin, now in her eighties, still periodically send letters to CCP and international authorities on behalf of the Tiananmen Mothers. In 2017, she described herself as “alone and sad,” acknowledging that, largely due to the lack of effective international support, the Tiananmen Mothers did not achieve their goal. One after the other, they are passing away in loneliness, and most young Chinese today have never heard of their struggle.

Why

Scholars have studied and debated Tiananmen since 1989. They discuss two different questions, why the protest erupted and why it was so mercilessly repressed. The prevailing interpretation is that the economic reforms of Deng generated the illusion that everybody may become rich, and unrealistic expectations that a capitalist economy would lead to a democratization of China.

As it often happens, illusion led to disappointment. Widespread corruption concentrated the richness in the hands of a minority. Prices of basic consumer goods increased 30% between 1987 and 1988. Unemployment also increased, particularly for university graduates in humanities, who will form the backbone of the protest.

No democratization had followed the economic reforms. And, although Deng had issued in 1982 “Document no. 19,” acknowledging that religion will not disappear anytime soon in China, hopes for a real religious liberty were disappointed. A strict control of the religion by the CCP continued. The so-called Shouters, one of the largest independent Protestant groups, were banned in 1983.

Some of the protesters were Protestants from the “house churches” (i.e. Protestant communities independent from the CCP-controlled Three Self Church), although the exact percentage of Christians among the protesters is unknown and may have been exaggerated by both CCP and Western Christian sources.

Why did the CCP ordered a bloody repression, knowing it would taint its international image for decades? CCP leaders quarreled between themselves and hesitated for almost two months. Most scholars agree that what in the end determined the bloody repression were the events in Eastern Europe.

For CCP leaders, that the Soviet Union and its satellite states may collapse, was something unexpected and regarded as unthinkable until a few years before Tiananmen. They concluded that, unless timely eradicated, the students’ movement would lead China towards the same path of Poland, Hungary, or the Baltic States, destroying the Communist regime.

Aftermath

It is generally acknowledged that Tiananmen was a powerful factor in generating a revival in the house church movement in China. Deng’s reforms came after the horrors of the Cultural Revolution and, to some extent, were looked at with hope by many Chinese. However, the brutal repression of Tiananmen persuaded many, if not most, that the CCP was incorrigible. Many disillusioned with the Party looked for comfort and answers in Christianity.

The subsequent years witnessed both a revival of the house churches and the birth of The Church of Almighty God, which was founded in 1991. It grew to acquire several million members and become the largest Chinese new religious movement together with Falun Gong.

A parallel revival took place among Chinese Muslims, particularly Uyghurs in Xinjiang. No doubt what had happened in Afghanistan persuaded some that Islam had the power to subvert totalitarian regimes, but the revival was primarily religious rather than political.

After Tiananmen, the CCP dispatched its best scholars to Eastern Europe to understand how all this might have been possible, and report back to Beijing. They concluded that religion had been the single most important factor in mobilizing the masses against the Communist Parties in several Eastern European countries—a theory shared by some Western scholars, although by no means by all.

The findings of the scholars dispatched to Europe became mandatory reading for all cadres at the Central CCP School. The new generation of CCP leaders, those who would eventually lead China in the 21st century, grew up being taught that the Communist system in Eastern Europe had collapsed mostly because of religion, and that control and repression of religion was mandatory for China to avoid following the same fate.

Speeches on religion by Jiang Zemin (b.1926), who came to power as CCP secretary twenty days after Tiananmen, looked very much like Chairman Mao’s early pronouncements. And an influential ideologue of the early Jiang years, Chen Yun (1905–1995), kept telling the CCP that the United States were using religion to destroy Communism in China as they had successfully done in the Soviet Union, Poland, Afghanistan, and elsewhere.

The outcome of these fears included the repression of Uyghurs and other Muslims in Xinjiang, based on the CCP’s analysis of the Soviet defeat in Afghanistan, as well as increasing pressure on Tibetan Buddhists and an international smear campaign against the Dalai Lama, as the collapse of the Soviet Union also enhanced the CCP’s fear of religion-based “separatism.”

The CCP also implemented a stricter control and harassment of house churches, and the publication in 1995 of an official list of groups labeled as xie jiao (“heterodox teachings,” sometimes incorrectly translated as “cults”) and regarded as so dangerous that they should be completely banned and mercilessly persecuted. The list included The Church of Almighty God, which the CCP tried to eradicate through a massive wave of arrests, torture, and extrajudicial killings.

While Falun Gong had been initially regarded by the CCP as an inoffensive group promoting traditional Chinese health techniques, the fear of any independent movement led to the clash between the Jiang regime and Falun Gong in 1999 and its inclusion in the list of xie jiao.

The post-Tiananmen CCP campaign against religion also relied on the massive fabrication of fake news, spread through the manipulation or corruption of some foreign journalists and scholars. Uyghur Muslims were accused of being “terrorists,” and false accusations of violence were directed against Falun Gong and others. In 2014, the CCP accused The Church of Almighty God of the murder of a woman in a McDonald’s diner in Zhaoyuan, a crime in fact committed by a different, small religious movement.

In the post-Tiananmen years, the repression of the Underground Catholic Church loyal to the Vatican intensified, with pressures on priests and bishops to join the CCP-controlled Patriotic Catholic Church. The CCP also tried to contain any possible Catholic protest by dealing with the Vatican, through the long journey which would eventually lead to the “provisional” agreement of 2018—which did not stop the persecution of the priests critical of the regime.

Tiananmen alone did not determine this policy, but Tiananmen together with the CCP’s interpretation of the collapse of Communism in Eastern Europe (and the events in Afghanistan) did. The CCP interpreted Tiananmen as the Chinese chapter of an epic global struggle between “the West” (led by the United States) and Communism, where the West had succeeded in destroying the Soviet Union and the Communist regimes in Eastern Europe, and China resisted as the only remaining mighty fortress of Marxism.

The CCP also believed that the West’s main tool in this battle was religion, and that, without further cracking down on religion, China would share the fate of the Soviet Union and succumb. It is not important whether this interpretation of Tiananmen was true—most Western scholars would say it wasn’t. It is much more important that the CCP believed it. Leaders such as Xi Jinping were formed in courses and classrooms where this reading of the events of 1989 was taught as a dogma.

For the CCP, nothing is more important than preserving the power of CCP. While some may only be concerned about their own personal power and privileges, for the true believers ideology is a form of atheistic religion, and saving the CCP means saving the whole universe. They learned from Chairman Mao that how many human lives are sacrificed is not important. And they learned from their own interpretation of the events of 1989 that saving the CCP meant cracking down on religion—containing some religions and destroying others.

The liberty and lives of countless Uyghurs and other Muslims, Tibetan Buddhists, house church Christians, Catholics hostile to CCP, members of Falun Gong, of The Church of Almighty God and other xie jiao, and many others, did not count. The same executioners that killed (according to the Western count) 10,000 protesters in Tiananmen Square went on to arrest, torture, and kill millions of believers in the subsequent decades, persuaded that their lives were expendable for the greater goal of saving the CCP from the “evil” power of religion that had destroyed Communism in other countries.

Notwithstanding further fake news and CCP propaganda, the repression of religion in China is actually getting worse under President Xi Jinping. The new regulation of religion that came into force on February 1, 2018 is the most restrictive in decades. Xi Jinping is fully persuaded that Tiananmen’s lesson is that religion may destroy Communism if it is not kept under strict control.

Not even the CCP-controlled religious organizations are safe under Xi Jinping. Minor administrative violations are used as pretexts to close and destroy their churches and temples. And the repression do not target Christian and Muslims only. Countless Buddhist and Taoist statues are being destroyed throughout the country.

Globalization

Tiananmen is not just a memory. Religious persecution continues. If anything, it becomes worse by globalizing, as the long arm of the CCP reaches out to refugees who escape religious persecution and flee abroad. They report harassment, espionage, false “spontaneous demonstrations” against them and even murder. Bitter Winter will soon unveil a new movie on how the “long arm of the Dragon” persecutes those escaping religious persecution in China and seeking asylum abroad.

Remembering the fallen heroes of Tiananmen is not enough. All those who love truth, freedom, and justice should join in calling for China to stop the persecution of all religions, at home and abroad, now.

This article is based on the Bitter Winter movie Tiananmen and Religious Persecution in China. Although not available online, the movie can be requested for private, non-profit educational screening in classrooms and events by emailing Bitter Winter.

 

source:BITTER WINTER/Massimo Introvigne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

天安门事件全球纪念活动:仅仅缅怀是不够的

6月4日是天安门大屠杀纪念日,然而它又不仅仅是个回忆。中共的迫害行径仍然猖獗,甚至将迫害的黑手伸向海外,骚扰申请庇护的难民。

1989年6月4日,天安门广场上遇难百姓的尸体(Courtesy of Rarehistoricalphotos.com

作者:马西莫·英特罗维吉(Massimo Introvigne)

《寒冬》每天都在报道中国的人权状况,为那些无法发声的群体发声。2019年6月4日,我们一起回顾1989年中国北京天安门事件。六四大屠杀是一个历史转折点,而我们关注宗教自由除了追忆参与天安门事件的学生的勇敢之外,我们还调查1989年天安门事件与中国宗教迫害之间的关联。天安门事件已成历史,但宗教迫害却从未停止。

时间

历史学家认为1989年是现代史上最具决定性意义的一年:随着大规模的示威活动从波兰和匈牙利首先发起,捷克斯洛伐克和罗马尼亚随后响应,共产主义在东欧土崩瓦解,同年11月,柏林围墙轰然倒下。一个时代就此落下帷幕。

1989年2月15日,苏联武装部队撤出阿富汗,承认他们无法击败当地的穆斯林游击队。这次撤离对苏联和穆斯林世界都具有重大的意义。

立陶宛的抗议运动引发了1989年8月23日 “波罗的海之路”,大约有200万人加入这场运动,他们手牵手形成一条人链,穿过爱沙尼亚、拉脱维亚和立陶宛这三个波罗的海国家,强烈要求苏联停止侵占他们的国家。这是苏联解体的开始。

虽然历史学家对于东欧事件对中国产生的影响众说纷纭,但是导致东欧共产主义瓦解的这些事件也许对中国广大人民在中共前总书记胡耀邦(1915—1989年)身上寄托的期望真的产生了影响。尽管胡耀邦于1987年被迫辞职,但他一直深受欢迎,人们希望他能像前苏联的米哈伊尔·戈尔巴乔夫(Mikhail Gorbachev)一样在推动改革方面发挥作用。

胡耀邦本来身体非常健康,但1989年4月15日,中共媒体却宣布他 “突发大面积急性心肌梗塞” 猝死。许多大学生认为胡耀邦是被杀害的,他们开始在北京天安门广场以及全国各地聚集,进行抗议。

事件

学生继续聚集,期间偶尔与警察发生小摩擦。与此同时,中共内部也在商量对策。85岁高龄的领导人邓小平(1904—1997年)在中共作重大决定时仍然有话语权。在他的指示下,中共官媒《人民日报》于4月26日发表社论,将聚集的学生定性为反革命分子,对他们的抗议活动必须予以制止。

事与愿违,中共的社论非但没能阻止天安门广场的抗议,反而有更多学生加入,抗议队伍达到数十万人,5月14日,学生开始绝食抗议。中共领导人意见分歧也日益严重,时任中共总书记赵紫阳(1919—2005年)主张与学生进行对话,而时任总理李鹏(1928年生)则主张对学生进行武装镇压。

全世界都把目光集中在5月16日戈尔巴乔夫访华以及他与赵紫阳的会晤上,形势变得更为复杂微妙。在戈尔巴乔夫访华期间,中共不希望节外生枝,所以天安门广场上难得出现 “休战”。据悉,戈尔巴乔夫建议中共适可而止,但赵紫阳告诉他,中共的所有决定最终都是邓小平说了算。

戈尔巴乔夫访华刺激了学生运动,不少北京市民支持学生并加入他们的队伍,并且全国各地400多个城市同时出现了学生聚集示威活动,人数很快超过百万。5月17日,邓小平把中共高层领导人召集到他的家里,决定调动部队严厉镇压抗议的学生。赵紫阳因试图反对这道命令而被排挤下台,遭到软禁。

5月20日,北京宣布戒严,部队和直升机开始汇集天安门广场。邓小平万万没想到学生们拒绝妥协。6月1日,强硬派总理李鹏向中央提交报告,把学生定性为 “恐怖分子”,要求军队毫不留情地以武力解决抗议运动。

然而,学生仍然拒绝解散。6月3日晚间至6月4日凌晨,解放军共10个师的官兵与装甲坦克汇集北京天安门广场,6月4日上午10点,他们向示威民众开火。

学生们进行反抗,但部队得到中共命令,不管死伤多少,一定要武力清场。到底有多少学生因此而牺牲是历史学家争论不下的一个问题。美国政府估计大约有一万人遇难,而中共坚持说只有几百名学生和23名武警官兵身亡。

学生们的反抗持续了数天,他们的勇敢令人难以置信。一名男子只身挡在一队坦克前的那张标志性照片拍摄于6月5日而非6月4日,表明学生仍在反抗。事实上,中国军队花了一个星期的时间才彻底将北京及其他城市的抗议运动镇压下去。

从1989年9月开始,中国人民大学哲学系副教授丁子霖(现已退休,她儿子因参与天安门抗议运动死于中共官兵的枪下,时年十七岁)便组织发起了 “天安门母亲运动”,要求为死难的学生平反,呼吁独立调查 “六四事件”。

虽然有一些非政府组织支持帮助过她们,但总的来说,国际上对天安门母亲的支持与帮助一直缺乏力度,收效甚微。2004年,天安门大屠杀15周年纪念活动期间,丁子霖等人被捕,没有几个人为此提出抗议。

虽然丁子霖女士现已步入耄耋之年,但仍然坚持代表天安门母亲定期写信给中共当局与世界各国政府。2017年,她形容自己 “无比的孤独和悲伤”。诚然,由于缺乏国际方面有效的支持与帮助,天安门母亲的夙愿未了,一个个孤独终老,然而当今中国的年轻一代大多从未听说过这些老人的艰辛。

原因

自1989年以来,学者们一直在研究、探讨天安门事件。他们探讨的问题有两个,一是为什么会爆发抗议,二是为什么抗议遭到无情镇压。普遍的解释是,邓小平的经济改革令民众产生了人人均可致富的错觉以及资本主义经济会为中国带来民主化的不切实际的期望。

希望越大往往失望越大。贪腐现象泛滥使得财富集中在少数人手中。1987至1988年间,日常消费品价格上涨了30%,失业率也在攀升,尤其是作为抗议运动中坚力量的文科毕业的大学生,他们的失业率不断在增长。

经济改革并没有为中国带来民主化。虽然邓小平于1982年颁布了 “19号文件”(该文件指出,尊重和保护宗教信仰自由是党对宗教问题的基本政策),并认为宗教不会马上从中国消失,但现实令人们对真正的宗教自由的希望落空了。中共对宗教的严格控制仍在继续,作为不受政府管控的最大基督教团体之一的 “呼喊派” 从1983年开始遭到查禁。

参与天安门广场抗议运动的人当中有些是家庭教会(即不属于中共管控的三自教会的基督教团体)的基督徒,但是抗议者中基督徒所占确切比例不为人知,其人数有可能被中共和西方基督教相关人士夸大。

为什么中共明知道武力镇压将有损其国际形象,而且往后几十年都难以重树形象,还执意要下令血腥镇压学生?当时,中共领导人内部争执不下,犹豫了将近两个月还决定不下来。很多学者认为,东欧剧变是促使中共最终决定血腥镇压学生的原因。

在天安门事件发生前几年,中共领导人还无法相信苏联及其卫星国(即苏联的几个从属国)居然会解体。他们商量的结果是,一定要及时斩草除根,否则学生运动就会导致中国步波兰、匈牙利、波罗的海国家的后尘,以致共产党政权被摧毁。

影响

人们普遍认为,天安门事件是导致中国家庭教会复兴的重要因素。文化大革命十年浩劫之后,中国迎来了邓小平的改革开放,在某种程度上,许多中国人都对此抱有很大希望。然而,天安门广场上的野蛮镇压令许多人(即便不是大多数人)看清了中共已是不可救药。结果,许多对中共意识形态彻底失望的人在基督教信仰中找到了心灵安慰和寄托。

天安门事件之后,基督教家庭教会在中国大大复兴。与此同时,中国穆斯林,尤其是新疆维吾尔人,也同样经历了复兴期。显然,阿富汗事件使得某些人认为,伊斯兰教有能力颠覆极权主义政权的统治,但当时中国伊斯兰教的复兴主要是宗教复兴而非政治复兴。

天安门事件后,中共曾派最优秀的学者去东欧了解剧变何以会发生,好向中共政府汇报。这些学者的结论是,在一些东欧国家,宗教是发动群众反对共产党的其中一个最重要的因素。这个理论得到了一些西方学者的支持,但并未得到所有西方学者的认同。

那些被派往欧洲的学者们的考察结果后来成了中共党校骨干培训的必读材料。21世纪新一代的中共领导人自幼就接受了这样的教导:导致东欧共产主义体制垮台的主要原因在于宗教,中共要想避免同样的命运,就必须控制、打压宗教。

江泽民于天安门事件发生二十天后升任中共中央总书记,他谈论宗教时的口吻听起来极像毛泽东的早期讲话风格。在江泽民执政初期,颇有影响力的思想家陈云((1905—1995年)不断提醒中共,美国过去几十年已经在苏联、波兰、阿富汗和其他国家成功地利用宗教摧毁了共产主义制度,现在又在中国故技重施。

中共吸取了苏联在阿富汗失败的教训后,出于恐惧,大肆镇压新疆的维吾尔人和其他穆斯林。同时,由于苏联的解体也加剧了中共对宗教导致的 “分裂主义” 的恐惧,中共对西藏佛教徒加大打压力度,在国际上抹黑达赖喇嘛的形象。

另外,中共对家庭教会加强控制、骚扰,还公布了一份官方 “邪教” 名单,将被其视为极其危险的宗教团体列入名单,从1995年开始彻底查禁、残酷迫害这些团体。中共把全能神教会也列入了这份名单,想通过大规模的抓捕、酷刑和法外处决等手段将其除掉。

起初,中共认为法轮功是一个弘扬中华传统修身养性保健方法的无害团体,但后来出于对所有独立团体的恐惧,江泽民政权1999年大举迫害法轮功,并将其列为 “邪教”。

天安门事件后中共发起了反宗教运动,靠的就是大肆捏造假新闻,操控、收买一些外国记者和海外学者为它散布这些假新闻,指控维吾尔穆斯林为 “恐怖分子”,诬蔑法轮功和其他团体使用暴力。中共甚至指控全能神教会2014年在山东招远一家麦当劳餐厅杀了一名女子,其实,该案件与全能神教会无关,凶手是另一个小型宗教团体的成员。

天安门事件后的多年,中共对效忠梵蒂冈的地下天主教会的镇压愈演愈烈。中共向天主教神父和主教施压,强迫他们加入受控于中共的天主教爱国会。中共还试图通过与梵蒂冈漫长的讨价还价,利用最终与梵蒂冈签订的2018年 “梵中临时协议” 来遏制所有天主教徒,阻止他们提出抗议,但是对于批评中共政府的神父,中共并没有因为签订了这份协议而停止对他们的迫害。

如果只是天安门事件,还不至于让中共对宗教团体大动干戈,但天安门事件加上中共对东欧共产主义制度覆灭(以及阿富汗事件)的解读则足以促使中共决定对宗教采取高压政策。中共将天安门事件解读为由美国主导的 “西方” 与共产主义之间的一部战争史诗当中的中国篇章,西方国家已成功地摧毁了苏联和东欧的共产主义政权,作为硕果仅存的马克思主义强大堡垒,中共唯有负隅顽抗。

中共还认为西方国家在这次争战中的主要工具就是宗教,因此中共只有进一步打击宗教,才不至于重蹈苏联的覆辙,功亏一篑。重要的不是对天安门事件的解读是否符合事实(很多西方学者认为这是中共的误读),重要的是中共对此深信不疑。对六四事件的这种解读已成中共的一种教条,教育了习近平等领导人。

对于中共而言,保住江山是头等大事。当然有些中共党员可能只关心自己手中的大权、特权,而对于真正的马克思主义信徒来说,其意识形态就是无神论,拯救中共就是拯救全世界。他们从毛泽东那里学到了经验,为了达到这个目的,无论牺牲多少人的生命都无关紧要。他们还从对1989年天安门事件的解读中得出结论:要拯救中共就要打击宗教——对某些宗教加以遏制,对其他宗教则要铲除。

对于 “敌视” 中共的无数维吾尔人及其他穆斯林、西藏佛教徒、家庭教会基督徒、天主教徒、法轮功、全能神教会等所谓的 “邪教” 成员,中共剥夺他们的自由,杀了他们,这些都统统不在话下。在1989年天安门事件中杀害了一万名抗议者(据西方国家统计)的 “刽子手”,此后几十年继续对数百万宗教信徒施行抓捕、酷刑以及杀戮。他们认为宗教的 “邪恶” 势力摧毁了苏联和其他国家的共产主义体制。中共正面临生死存亡的关头,它认为牺牲信仰群体的性命根本无足挂齿。

中共还在继续捏造、散布假新闻,在国家主席习近平治下,中国宗教遭到的镇压不断恶化。2018年2月1日实施的新《宗教事务条例》是几十年来最严苛的一个法规。习近平深信,天安门事件的教训是必须严格管控宗教,否则宗教就会摧毁共产主义体制。
在习近平治下,即使是受控于中共的宗教组织也毫无安全可言,稍有一点违反行政法规的行为,马上成为政府关闭教堂、拆毁寺庙道观的借口。不仅基督徒和穆斯林遭到压制,中国各地无数佛教和道教塑像也惨遭拆毁。

迫害全球化

天安门事件虽已成回忆,宗教迫害仍在继续。因中共的黑手已伸向躲避宗教迫害、逃亡海外的难民,这种全球化的迫害使得迫害更加恶化。据难民讲述,中共骚扰他们,派间谍监视跟踪他们,发动虚假的 “自发示威” 诋毁攻击他们,甚至谋杀他们。《寒冬》即将推出新电影,揭露中共伸出 “龙爪” 迫害躲避宗教迫害、逃亡海外寻求庇护的信徒的暴行。

仅仅缅怀在天安门事件中逝去的英雄还远远不够。所有热爱真理,热爱自由,热爱正义的人都应该团结起来,马上行动,制止中共在国内外迫害所有宗教的恶行。

本文根据《寒冬》制作的电影《天安门与中国的宗教迫害》的内容改写。虽然该影片没有上传到网上,但如果个人、非营利组织出于教育目的需要在课堂上、在活动中放映,可以将要求电邮至Chinese@bitterwinter.org

电影《天安门与中国的宗教迫害》

来源:寒冬/马西莫·英特罗维吉(Massimo Introvigne)

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注